Caturday! That’s Saturday With a Cat. Or Two

Oh geez…this is my first Caturday, and it may be my further descent into the Crazy Cat Lady universe. But I am forging on despite what anyone here thinks.

I discovered Caturday via Bluebird of Bitterness. As “Bob” so informed me, Caturday is simply an excuse to post about cats…anything to do with cats. I then decided we don’t need an excuse to post about cats. But to save you from my insanity, I will try to limit my cat posts to one day a week…Caturday. That’s today.

Allow me to introduce you to my Boo-Bear. This is Dios.

20151215_060429-01

My Pumpkin Muffin, my favorite, my very own Martin Van Buren.

I adopted Dios 7 years ago just after graduating from college. I was about to embark on my next adventure of graduate school at Florida State. I wanted a friend to share in this adventure.

So, I logged onto the animal shelter website looking for cute little furbabies. The sponsored kitten on the site was this cute little white kitten with big blue eyes. I was hooked. I jumped in my civic, paid the $3 toll to get over the bridge, and up to the north part of the county to take this beautiful, little blue eyed kitten home.

When I entered the kitten room, the meows were pinging off the walls; the kittens were climbing the cages; they were stretching their paws through the openings, begging for me to take them all home. I instantly gathered them all into my arms and quickly ran out door.

Thus starting my own Crazy Cat Lady Starter Kit.

cats1-crazy_lady

Just kidding. However, when I did enter the kitten room, I located the blue eyed white kitten, but locked in the cage with him, was this black furball, that was, at the time, clinging to the door of the cage like a wildly crazed monkey.

I don’t know what compelled me to do so, but I decided I would take the crazed monkey-cat and the blue eyed kitten out to play for a bit. I put both on the floor of the room and then sat to see what would happen. The little white, blue eyed kitten immediately went to the corner and hid behind a cat climbing post, too scared to move. But the black crazy one shot off across the room, skidded wildly on the floor, slammed into the wall, and then immediately started kicking his feet trying to gain traction to continue his race across the tile floor.

Was he chasing some unforeseen object? Or was he delighting in a new found freedom? I wasn’t quite sure. All I knew is that he reminded me of a cartoon character moving his legs as if running, but remaining in one place. I couldn’t resist.

His black fur stuck out of his little body like he had been electrocuted, and he was just having the time of his life, not a care in the world. Meanwhile, the white cat just cowered in the corner. I knew who I had to take home.

 

Since then, Dios has endured a yearlong graduate program (he worked hard during that program), four different moves, a couple boyfriends (mine not his), a career change, flooded apartments, and much much more. He has been by my side through some pretty emotional times, but he has also been there through all the good times.

He greets me at the door every day, follows me around the house, plays fetch and comes when called, barks when he plays, cuddles with me each night, and has no problem letting me know when he is hungry or when I have slept too long.

He is my Boo.

Dios has been dubbed Martin Van Buren, the 8th president, simply because when the weather turns cold and his winter coat comes in, he seems to grow grey mutton-chops as a mane. He bears this title well.

For the sake of your sanity, I will save the story of Whittaker for next week. By then, I should have Kitty Kingdom set up for his and your entertainment.

Happy Caturday.

crazycatlady

8 thoughts on “Caturday! That’s Saturday With a Cat. Or Two

  1. THIS IS SO SO CUTE!!! And Dios is adorable as well.😍 I’m more of a dog person because I’m sadly allergic to cats, but they’re still SO CUTE AND FLUFFY especially as kittens!! Eeep!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww I hate that you are allergic to something you find so adorable. I have always grown up with cats, but I think it would be nice to have a dog, to get out of the house and walk the dog. Come back on Saturday and I will post about my other kitty…he is a nut. Thank you for reading and posting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

