Hump Day Planning

Good Morning and welcome to Wednesday. What most people call the middle of the week…well the work week, anyway.

My best friend Ashton lovingly refers to it as “Hump Day.” It never fails that I will receive a “Happy Hump Day” snap from her lookin’ her finest.

So, on this last Wednesday of my summer, I am going to introduce to you “My Brain,” or my planner. I have named it, affectionately, after my mother’s old school, Office Depot planner. When I was a kid, she had a dark blue ring bound planner that held…well everything. She referred to it as her “brain” because without it nothing was remembered.

I remember my family knowing that mom had to have her “brain” whenever we left the house, or we would be in charge of reminding her of crazy appointments or phone numbers, which never were remembered. Come on now, we were just kids.

At the end of 2015, I decided that I wanted to be more organized (more so than I already was). I wanted a place that would hold EVERYTHING I could think of. I was already a planner user for work, and I had recently gotten into the habit of writing down an hourly schedule for myself. Each hour of my day was planned out so I knew what I had to do that day. It kept me accountable.

IMG_20160803_090329

With my Christmas wish money, I scoured the internet looking for something beautiful, functional, and cost worthy. I literally spent hours hogging my parents’ computer looking for the right set up. I finally found Kikki.K.  A Swedish company that sells BEAUTIFUL ring bound planners and stationary. I was instantly hooked.

I purchased the Large Cobalt Blue planner (lucky me, it was on sale). My dad silently scoffed my obscure purchase and the amount, but I knew it was love.

IMG_20160803_082609-01
Large Cobalt Blue Ring Bound and Stabilo Pens

After that, I started finding all these planner girls on Instagram and the internet. I came across A Bowl Full of Lemons and read all of her planner posts. I loved her setup. I was jealous. And instantly hooked on the “Planner World.” From there, it was just a simple jump into washi tape, stickers, pens, decorating, planner clips, inserts, etc.

I found “planner peace” with daily printables from www.vortex42.com which I decorate with stickers and washi tape galore. I also found that I could combine journaling with scheduling by way of bullet journaling. I found a whole world of planner users on Instagram and Facebook. I discovered challenges for quotes and doodles and handwriting practice. I have found that I have tapped into this crafty reservoir I didn’t know I possessed.

IMG_20160803_081506-01
My Wednesday. “Hump Day” sticker from Formless Designs and the “Walk” flag is from Jubilo. Washi tape from Michaels Craft Store. I wish I could tell you where the coffee cup is from, but it was part of a “grab all you can” from a table. The name was cut off. Inserts or dividers came from Superkitties.

My dad likes to refer to my planner obsession as a hobby, and he does so with affection. He admittedly enjoys watching me work on my planner. I have even convinced my older sister and mom to join me in this black hole of the “planner world.” I spam my Instagram with my planner, specifically my quotes of the day; I am part of a Northwest Florida Planner group, where I have met some awesomely creative ladies; I carry my planner around with me constantly, even room to room of my house; I lay it open on my little white desk just to stare at its beauty.

My planner has become my sanctuary. Some days I just want to sit and stare at it. But, honestly, it has truly helped me this year, not only be more organized and crafty, but given me an outlet when I have needed it the most.

If ever my house were to catch on fire (knock on wood), besides Dios and Whittaker, my planner would be the next thing I grab.

Oooo geez…crazy cat lady + planner nerd.

Happy Hump Day

One thought on “Hump Day Planning

Leave a Reply

